If you are caught driving in Ohio without a seatbelt, you are in for a rude awakening. Depending on the conditions, the price of a seatbelt ticket in the Buckeye State can range from $30 to $75.
First-time offenders are often subject to a $30 fine. However, if the driver is found to have a child in the vehicle who is not wearing a seatbelt, the driver will be accountable for the ticket, and the fine will escalate to $50.
Unfortunately, if you fail to learn your lesson the first time and are caught violating the seatbelt requirement again, you will be required to pay a $75 fine. That is a significant penalty for not wearing a seatbelt. Therefore, it is essential to always fasten your seatbelt whenever you are behind the wheel.
Ultimately, Ohio seatbelt citations are no laughing matter. Even slight infractions of the law might result in substantial fines. So, if you’re traveling in Ohio, don’t forget to fasten your seatbelt and make sure everyone else in the car is as well!