If you are discovered driving without a seat belt in California, you will be issued a ticket that might be quite expensive. In California, the base fine for a seat belt violation is $20.00 for the first offense and $50.00 for consecutive offenses. However, do not be deceived by this seemingly little amount; the actual fine you will be required to pay is substantially larger. Because the actual fine includes significant costs and penalties, this is the case.
It is vital to note that county-specific sanctions for seat belt breaches exist. In Los Angeles County, for instance, the base fine for a seat belt violation is $162.00. The price in San Francisco is $143,00. Also, bear in mind that if you are found driving in California without a seat belt, you may incur license points.
It is preferable to avoid obtaining a seat belt ticket altogether. Seat belt use is required by law in California, and it is a smart strategy to prevent catastrophic harm in the event of an accident. Therefore, strap up and save some money!